Oct 15, 2009

Most on Nobel jury objected to Obama prize

Two of the five members on the Nobel Committee gained the upper hand and selected Barack Obama (pictured) as the 2009 Peace Prize winner.

Three of the five members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee had objections to the Nobel Peace Prize being awarded to US President Barack Obama, the Norwegian tabloid Verdens Gang (VG) reported Thursday.

In a surprise move last Friday, the Nobel committee attributed the Nobel Peace Prize to Obama less than nine months after he had taken office.

In the end the decision was said to be unanimous.